• Welcome to the Counseling Department at
    The Academies at South Mountain!
    Counseling 2023
     

    ASM Counseling Vision: 

    We believe that ALL students can learn and achieve academic success when encouraged and nurtured in a respectful environment. 

     

    ASM Counseling Mission 

    The School Counseling Program at the Academies at South Mountain High School seeks to positively impact the lives of our students by partnering with the community, parents, faculty, and staff. Our department offers comprehensive planning and student-driven services to address student academic and career goals, as well as social-emotional needs. We work to give students the opportunities to acquire the educational and social competencies necessary for their growth toward lifelong success in college, career, and life.

     

     

     

    Mari Soto
    Counseling Senior Office Assistant
    602-764-5060
    msoto@phoenixunion.org 

     
      

     


    Simir Rand - Instructional Leader (STA) 602-764-5049
    rand@phoenixunion.org
    Location: Counseling Office

     

     

    Clay.Expo23

    Stephanie Clay (Freshman)
    602-764-5063
    clay@phoenixunion.org
    Location: F30
     

     


    Kandy Cordova (Freshman)
    602-764-5048
    kcordova@phoenixunion.org
    Location: E03

     

     

    Margaret Carroll (PSS)
    602-764-5062
    carroll@phoenixunion.org
    Location: Room M176  

     


    Doreen Dickinson (STA & PSS)
    602-764-5046
    dickinson@phoenixunion.org
    Location: Room M041   


     


    Selena Huitron (MAD) 
    602-764-5025
    shuitron@phoenixunion.org
    Location: Room M134   
     

     

    Daisy Padilla (MAD)  
    602-764-5061
    dpadilla@phoenixunion.org
    Location: Counseling Office 

     

     

     

     

    Our Counselors are primarily assigned to students based upon Academies.

    Students can contact their Counselors directly through Teams, email, phone or the office location listed above.

     

    • Ms. Clay: Freshman Academy(9th grade only & SEI*)
    • Ms. Cordova: Freshman Academy(9th grade only & ESS*)

     

    • Ms. Padilla: Media Arts & Design Academy(MAD:10th-12th grade)
    • Ms. Huitron: Media Arts & Design Academy(MAD:10th-12th grade)
    • Ms. Dickenson: Science/Technology& Aerospace Academy, Public & Social Services(STA & PSS: 10th-12th grade)  
    • Ms. Rand: Science/Technology& Aerospace Academy(STA: 10th-12th grade) 
    • Ms. Carroll: Public & Social Services Academy(PSS:10th-12th grade)  

    *SEI=Structured English Immersion

    *ESS=Exceptional Student Services