• Volunteer at a Phoenix Union High School

    Volunteers are a key element in the success of a school. Schools today rely on the services, expertise, and generous time and talents that volunteers provide.

    The Phoenix Union High School District welcomes a variety of volunteers who enhance our students’ educational experiences. For the safety and protection of students, staff, and volunteers, we are required to follow certain guidelines, depending on your involvement.

    In keeping with Phoenix Union Operational Procedure IJOC-OP-1 and Arizona statute ARS 15-341(A)(16) and 15-512(A), volunteers must be at least 21 years of age and be high school graduates or have earned GED credentials.

    The pages in this section identify clearance requirements for different types of volunteer services. We hope this makes volunteering at our schools easier—thank you for being a Phoenix Union volunteer.

    Volunteers, Parents, Agency Staff, or Community Members Who Have Contact with Students

    On an individual campus: Contact the campus community liaison (see below) to determine the level of clearance required.

    For multiple campuses: Contact Cyndi Tercero, dropout programs developer, at tercero@phoenixunion.org or 602-764-1304.

    If you have any questions, please contact the community liaison at the school you have selected or the district dropout programs developer.

    Volunteer Athletic Coaches

    These individuals will need to contact the Athletics Office at 602-764-1334 for approval information.

     

    Campus Community Liaisons

    School Liaison Name Phone Number Email Address 
    Alhambra Oscar Adame 602-764-6038  oadame@phoenixunion.org
    Trevor Browne  Blanca Avalos 602-764-8540  bavalos@phoenixunion.org
    Camelback Rosa Dominguez 602-764-7427  rdominguez2@phoenixunion.org
    Central Ciara Aguilar
    602-764-7545 
    tmp
    602-764-7570 
    caguilar@phoenixunion.org
    Cesar Chavez Ann Acosta 602-764-4046  aacosta@phoenixunion.org
    Carl Hayden Pat Banks 602-764-3043  bankshuckleby@phoenixunion.org
    Maryvale Carolyn Burrell 602-764-2124  cburrell@phoenixunion.org
    Metro Tech Krystal Rogers 602-764-8048  krogers1@phoenixunion.org
    North Sofia Lujano 602-764-6528  slujano@phoenixunion.org
    South Mountain Crystal Lucero 602-764-5053 clucero@phoenixunion.org
    Bostrom Luz Delgado 602-764-1678     ldelgado@phoenixunion.org
    Bioscience Lionila Gariepy 602-764-5606 gariepy@phoenixunion.org
    Desiderata Michelle Wilke 602-764-0801 wilke@phoenixunion.org
    Franklin Wendy Hernandez 602-764-0270 whernandez@phoenixunion.org
    Linda Abril Aurora Lopez 602-764-0070 alopez2@phoenixunion.org